Article 53 Of The European Economic Area Agreement

Appropriate conditional access measures are being taken to prevent unauthorized access to marine areas, loading ramps and cargo areas; the agreement is not such as to give the companies concerned the power to determine the prices of a substantial part of the products concerned in the area covered by the agreement, to control or limit production or marketing, nor to protect them from effective competition between other companies located in the territory covered by the agreement. From 2020[update], three of the four EFTA Member States and the 27 EU Member States are contracting parties to the EEA. [21] The youngest member state of the European Union, Croatia, concluded the EEA accession negotiations in November 2013[22] and applied the agreement on an interim basis from 12 April 2014 until it was ratified by all EEA Member States. [4] [13] The competent authority examines, in its own voice or at the request of an EC Member State or an EFTA State, the rates and conditions covered by paragraph 1, taking into account, among other things, the needs of an appropriate regional economic policy, the needs of underdeveloped regions and the problems faced by regions severely affected by political circumstances. , and the impact of these tariffs and conditions on competition between different modes of transport, on the other hand. The EEA Joint Committee makes decisions by mutual agreement between the Community, on the one hand, and the EFTA states speaking with one voice, on the other hand. with regard to the EFTA States, by the EFTA Supervisory Authority, in accordance with the rules of an agreement between EFTA states establishing the EFTA Supervisory Authority, which is responsible for the powers and functions defined in Protocol 26. Any convention or decision prohibited under paragraph 1 is automatically annulled and cannot be invoked in any jurisdiction of the EC Member States or EFTA States. In November 2012, after the Council of the European Union requested an assessment of the EU`s relations with the European micro-sovereign states of Andorra, Monaco and San Marino, which they described as “fragmented”,[51] the European Commission published a report outlining possible options for their integration into the EU. [52] Unlike Liechtenstein, which is a member of the EEA through EFTA and the Schengen agreements, relations with these three states are based on a set of agreements covering specific issues.

CatégoriesNon classé